Apr 8: ADL’s Virtual 40th Annual Governor’s Holocaust Remembrance Program

Register Now for ADL’s Virtual 40th Annual Governor’s Holocaust Remembrance Program

For the 40th year, ADL’s Mountain States Region will host its Governor’s Holocaust Remembrance Program, one of the largest such events in the United States. The 2021 program will be offered virtually on Zoom.

The event will take place on Zoom at 5:30 pm MT (4:30 pm PT / 6:30 pm CT / 7:30 pm ET) on Thursday, April 8, 2021

Register online at the Anti-Defamation League’s website

Program Information

The annual program allows people of all faiths to come together to honor Holocaust survivors, remember those who perished, educate the community about this horrible crime against humanity and translate those lessons into contemporary action.  The event will take place on Zoom at 5:30 pm MT (4:30 pm PT / 6:30 pm CT / 7:30 pm ET) on Thursday, April 8, 2021.

This year’s featured speaker is Holocaust Survivor Judith Altmann. Judy, who is 96 years old, was born in Jasina Czechoslovakia, which was invaded by the Nazis in 1939 when she was a teenager. In 1944, Judy was arrested and taken to Auschwitz. Out of 24 family members , only she and her niece and nephew survived. Judy survived two forced labor camps despite a catastrophic injury, and survived the 150-mile “death march” that ended in the Bergen Belsen concentration camp.  Sick with typhus, Judy was barely alive when she was liberated by the British Army in 1945. After living for a short time in Sweden, Judy immigrated to the United States in 1948.

Judy is a member of the Holocaust & Human Rights Education Speakers Bureau and is Vice President of the Holocaust Child Survivors of Connecticut. Click below on “Our Speaker” to read a special interview with Judy.